Life from the inside out

Family Painting

Ok, if you have been following this blog you know that we recently had some family photos taken.  We decided to do something a little less traditional by creating a family painting during the shoot.  We slung paint for about an hour and the kids had a blast! Thank you Miss Alicia for photographing our mess! Here is the resulting painting all finished :)

This is what the painting looked like upon tearing the tape off.  (We taped off the word ‘one’ before we started throwing paint)

In true imperfect fashion, my two year old took a lovely blue cupcake stamp to the white letters…… Her contribution I guess.

Welcome the white paint that I then used to cover the lovely cupcakes :)

I then used a black Sharpie to outline the letters for better definition.

I wanted to add our names to the painting so I printed them off in a font that I liked.  Now, you can either print them like this or to scale for the painting.  I chose to freehand the names, but you could use a to-scale print of each name, chalk the back of the paper, and then trace over the letters on the front of the paper while it is placed where you want it to be on the canvas.  This will transfer a chalk impression of the name that you can then ‘trace’ with the marker or paint.

Last, I added a sheer yellow stripe to the other side with a scripture reference for our family.  This painting for us represents our family purpose – one family, one purpose.  You can coat the entire painting with a clear coat to protect it.  Then it’s ready to hang!  I just picked up a Groupon for a photo canvas so I’ll be printing our family portrait to hang next to it :)

Do this with your family even if you don’t photograph it.  We had so much fun and our kids love seeing it on the wall!

Supplies:

large canvas

tempera paint (for the paint throwing)

Sharpie marker

Acrylic paint

Clear coat

One comment on “Family Painting

  1. Pingback: The Bowman’s Paint as ONE! | In His Eyes Photography

Leave a Reply

About the Author

annambowman

annambowman

I am a mother to 3 beautiful children and a wife to my amazing husband. I am passionate about helping women understand their value and raising up the next generation of godly women. I love music, art, dance, photography, peanut butter and honey sandwiches, Sunday mornings, a great cup of coffee, and heart to heart conversations. I also love that with creative punctuation you can now smile in your emails and texts :)

View Full Profile →

My Other Site

WhoIsBeautiful.org

Follow Me on Pure Charity

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 708 other followers

