Life from the inside out

Paper Bead Necklaces

Continuing with our homemade gifts for Christmas commitment, the kids and I tackled paper bead necklaces.  I was pleasantly surprised at how much my kids liked this activity.  I thought that it might be too difficult, but they took to it easily and it occupied them for quite a while!  We had the best conversations sitting at the table making these.  It was definitely a kid friendly activity :)

Here is what you need:

old magazine with colorful pages

bottle of school glue

scissors

something to wrap the paper around (we used the handle of a paintbrush)

string or jewelry cord

beads (whatever you like)

spray can of gloss coat (can find at any craft store)

Select a page with lots of color and cut little triangular strips out of it like so.

Add a line of glue to the back of one of the strips.  Don’t go all the way to the end because it will squish out.

Wrap the paper around the handle of the paint brush, starting with the largest end.  As you wrap, make sure the tip of the strip ends in the middle of the bead you are making.  This makes the bead fatter in the middle and tapered on the ends.

You should end up with several little rolls that look like this :) Leave them on a plate to dry.

Once the glue is dry, you can spray the beads with the glossy clear coat to seal everything and make them a bit firmer.  When that dries (I recommend overnight), you can string them along with some shiny beads to make a necklace.  I love the end result and would totally wear it!  The possibilities are endless.  You could use all one color of paper.  You could use longer strips to make fatter beads.  You could add other elements to the necklace like wood beads or silver hoops.  Pretty cool and the kids can say they helped make it!

P.S. My six year old took the last photos.  I think she did a great job!  I set her up and told her how to hold the camera.  Then she took charge and told me what to do…lol!  Pretty sure she’s a natural!

 

Leave a Reply

About the Author

annambowman

annambowman

I am a mother to 3 beautiful children and a wife to my amazing husband. I am passionate about helping women understand their value and raising up the next generation of godly women. I love music, art, dance, photography, peanut butter and honey sandwiches, Sunday mornings, a great cup of coffee, and heart to heart conversations. I also love that with creative punctuation you can now smile in your emails and texts :)

View Full Profile →

My Other Site

WhoIsBeautiful.org

Follow Me on Pure Charity

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 708 other followers

