Life from the inside out

Word for 2013

I’ve seen a few people posting things about picking their word for the year – anything from ‘perseverance’ to ‘light’ to ‘push’.  I thought for a minute that I didn’t have a word for this year until I realized I had just painted one.  Funny how those things happen.

I recently did a very simple painting of the word ‘yes’ to hang above our sink.  It’s very basic.  Just gray in color with a raised ‘yes’ on it.  Most people who visit our home, if they notice the painting at all, probably wonder what it’s for.  It is a reminder to my husband and I.  A reminder to have an agreeable posture in our hearts and attitude.  This extends from our relationship with each other to our relationship with our children and our relationship with the Lord.  So often we can have the word ‘no’ living in our hearts.  What I mean by this is that when you are presented with something different, out of the ordinary, or something against our plans, we often react first with ‘no’.  Sometimes we don’t even give the new idea a chance just because it’s different.  But our plans are not always the best plans as we read in Isaiah 55:8-9.  God’s plans are higher than our plans and his purposes are higher than ours.

yes

The word ‘yes’ applies to my relationship with my husband when he needs me even if I’m tired.  It applies when I can choose to do something for him that I don’t necessarily feel like doing or have time to do.  The word ‘yes’ causes me to give of myself in a sacrificial way to my spouse, to be flexible.  Sacrificial giving to my spouse always causes our relationship to go deeper.  The sacrifice I sow is also reaped when my husband sacrifices in turn.  I promise, if you give you will receive!  It’s a principle in the bible.

The word ‘yes’ applies to my relationship with my children when they ask to participate in or do something that inconveniences me.  It never fails when I’m cooking dinner that one of my children will come in and ask “Mommy can I cook with you?”  I have two options.  I can say ‘no’ and watch my child walk away dejected or I can say ‘yes’ and figure out a way to let them help.  Now obviously, it’s much easier to cook without little ones under my feet and it requires me to think outside the box to find a way for my 6, 4, or 2 year old to help with cooking.  BUT….the time they get with their mother, learning in the kitchen, and feeling important, included, and accomplished, is far more important than my convenience.  Over the last few years, I’ve come to realize how important this is.  I even let them take a few shots with my camera when they tag along on photo shoots.  Participation is key for raising kids.  They want what any other person would want – to be included.  ‘Yes’ keeps perfection from raising it’s ugly head.

The word ‘yes’ applies to my relationship with God when His plans disrupt my plans.  I have walked this road so many times in life.  I have had to learn that His ways are not my ways and even if I am in the will of God, following His path, it will definitely look different than I anticipated.  The word ‘yes’ reminds me to let go.  Unclench my fists, stop gripping things to white knuckles, take a deep breath, and listen.  God is speaking to us everywhere.  We simply need to open our ears, eyes, hearts.  Have a ‘yes’ attitude.

What is your word for 2013?

PIsignature

3 comments on “Word for 2013

  1. happilyperryed
    January 4, 2013

    I loved, reading this, Anna! Great word for 2013 :)

  2. Pingback: fearlessly mother

Leave a Reply

About the Author

annambowman

annambowman

I am a mother to 3 beautiful children and a wife to my amazing husband. I am passionate about helping women understand their value and raising up the next generation of godly women. I love music, art, dance, photography, peanut butter and honey sandwiches, Sunday mornings, a great cup of coffee, and heart to heart conversations. I also love that with creative punctuation you can now smile in your emails and texts :)

View Full Profile →

My Other Site

WhoIsBeautiful.org

Follow Me on Pure Charity

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 708 other followers

