Life from the inside out

Tshirt Ruffle Dress

IMG_3807

I made this tshirt dress a week or two ago.  A lovely friend gave me some fabric scraps, so I searched for inspiration on the net and found this cute little dress.  Hers is probably tons better than my attempt, but I’m pleased with the way this turned out and my daughter loves it.  Win! (or as Charlie Sheen would say… Winning!)

I cut three lengths of fabric about 4 inches deep and twice the length around my little one’s hips.  I also cut off the bottom of an old gray tshirt to sew the ruffles to.  This will be what you actually attach to the tshirt as a skirt.  I then sewed a straight line down the strips of fabric with my machine set on the longest stitch.  To make it ruffle, you grab one of the two threads (as you see below) and pull it, working with the fabric as it gathers, making sure to gather evenly.

IMG_3767

I used one of the edging stitches to hem the edges of the ruffles.  you could cut them large enough to actually hem, but I ended up really liking this stitch.  It made the ruffles kind of curl up a bit, which I thought was cute :)

IMG_3773

Next you will begin to pin each ruffle onto the tube/skirt you made or cut from an old tshirt.  You will pin each ruffle down and sew right over the top of it.  Move on to the next ruffle until each is sewn in place.  Again, simple straight stitch.

IMG_3761

IMG_3763

IMG_3789

IMG_3770

I then pinned the entire skirt to the bottom of the tshirt.  I folded down an easy hem and made two rows of top stitching.  (sorry I have no photo for that….eek!) Anyway, here are the results!

IMG_3804

IMG_3803

IMG_3801

IMG_3800

PIsignature

Leave a Reply

About the Author

annambowman

annambowman

I am a mother to 3 beautiful children and a wife to my amazing husband. I am passionate about helping women understand their value and raising up the next generation of godly women. I love music, art, dance, photography, peanut butter and honey sandwiches, Sunday mornings, a great cup of coffee, and heart to heart conversations. I also love that with creative punctuation you can now smile in your emails and texts :)

View Full Profile →

My Other Site

WhoIsBeautiful.org

Follow Me on Pure Charity

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 708 other followers

