Life from the inside out

This gift is for me

Sweaty foreheads,

rosy cheeks,

dirty shoes,

sticky fingers,

wasp stings,

tears,

laughter,

breathless joy.

These are just a few of the things I experienced this afternoon at the park with my children.  I was observing how kids just know what to do at a park.  It can be a place they’ve never been before and they know it is for them.  They instinctively take off running, frolicking up and down, all around.  I’ve never seen my children stop and stare at a playground, dumbfounded, not knowing what to do.  Even my littlest one knows to make the most of the moment, making little ‘dirt cookies’ from the dried cake ground near the play set.  Simplicity of heart.  Nothing weighing them down.  Just pure abandonment.  For these moments, my children are blissfully unaware of the ugliness of the world.

Matthew 18 states “At that time the disciples came to Jesus and asked, “Who, then, is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?”

He called a little child to him, and placed the child among them. And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children,(B) you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.(C) Therefore, whoever takes the lowly position of this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.(D) And whoever welcomes one such child in my name welcomes me.(E)

“If anyone causes one of these little ones—those who believe in me—to stumble, it would be better for them to have a large millstone hung around their neck and to be drowned in the depths of the sea.”

God wants us to view His presence as my children viewed this park.  He wants us to just know it is for us…a gift.  He wants us to instinctively walk in it…His grace.  He desires that we approach Him with a simplicity of heart, laying all heavy things at His feet, unaware of the ugliness of this world we live in.  However, so many times we stand at the gates, dumbfounded, not knowing what to do.  Jeremiah 33:3 says “Call unto me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things, which you know not”.  It’s just that simple.  Ask. Believe in Him.

As I listen to the sweetest little breaths coming from the bedroom, my children fast asleep after a long day, I pray that I can become more like them.  Make me unaware of the ugliness in this world.  Help me to walk in your grace daily.  Welcome me into your arms when I hurt.  May I work my hardest, play my hardest, cry my hardest in your presence, knowing that you are with me and answer me when I call.  Help me to realize this gift is for me.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 25, 2012 by in Nuggets and tagged , , , .

Navigation

About the Author

annambowman

annambowman

I am a mother to 3 beautiful children and a wife to my amazing husband. I am passionate about helping women understand their value and raising up the next generation of godly women. I love music, art, dance, photography, peanut butter and honey sandwiches, Sunday mornings, a great cup of coffee, and heart to heart conversations. I also love that with creative punctuation you can now smile in your emails and texts :)

View Full Profile →

My Other Site

WhoIsBeautiful.org

Follow Me on Pure Charity

