Life from the inside out

T-Shirt Scarf

So for Christmas this year, I decided to do all homemade gifts from as many recycled components as possible.  This first project was an idea from Pinterest that I found and was super cheap.  Literally, it cost me $1.50 for the whole thing.  I’ll be posting other projects as soon as I complete them.

Start with a t-shirt in whatever color you like.  This one is a small, but you could use larger sizes for longer scarves.

Take a pair of scissors and begin cutting 1 inch strips from the bottom of the shirt.

Take one of the strips and cut it open at the seam.  I saved another strip for a future project. (I’ll be posting that too 🙂 )

Next, gather all the loops together.  This makes the bulk of the scarf.

Take the strip that you cut open and begin to wrap it around the loops.  First down and then back up.  I chose to wrap it at one of the seams.  Then tie the ends in a knot.

Tuck the ends of the knot into the wrap and voila!  You have a t-shirt scarf!

My daughter loved it!  I think I might take the extra piece and make a pretty rosette to attach to the wrapped part or something.  Super cute and super cheap!  Looks like a muti-strand necklace.

5 comments on “T-Shirt Scarf

  1. krisette
    November 21, 2012

    This also works really well with yarn! I did it last year and pinned a flower or pin on the “handle” part that you wrap around. Super cute!!

  2. annambowman
    November 21, 2012

    I didn’t think about yarn, Krisette! Good idea!

  3. bethzinn
    November 21, 2012

    Wow, that is a great project! Good Job Anna!

  4. Dawn Norris
    November 22, 2012

    thats cool

  5. brendapedroza
    December 4, 2012

    Oh wow this is a great idea! I will make one for myself! Lovely…

Leave a Reply

About the Author

annambowman

annambowman

I am a mother to 3 beautiful children and a wife to my amazing husband. I am passionate about helping women understand their value and raising up the next generation of godly women. I love music, art, dance, photography, peanut butter and honey sandwiches, Sunday mornings, a great cup of coffee, and heart to heart conversations. I also love that with creative punctuation you can now smile in your emails and texts :)

View Full Profile →

My Other Site

WhoIsBeautiful.org

Follow Me on Pure Charity

