Life from the inside out

Manna from Heaven…or a Snicker Bar

Have you ever had one of those days when you just feel emptied of all things productive? You’ve given everything you have and it still isn’t enough. There are still tasks to be done – lunches to be made, rooms to clean, laundry to fold, dishes to do. I had one of those days recently. I had just reached a point where I felt like I had nothing left to give. Then the thoughts of quitting came creeping in. I started weighing the things I was involved in and tossing around the idea of laying some things down. Wouldn’t it just be easier to disappear into the depths of my couch where only lost goldfish crackers and random coins live? Yes, but that wouldn’t be the right thing to do and my kids would probably find me anyway when they decided to take the cushions off and use the couch as a trampoline.

The scripture in Galatians 6:9 comes to mind during times like these “Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up”. Sounds like a promise to me. It says before this scripture that if you sow in the flesh, you will reap from the flesh in destruction, but if you sow by the Spirit, from the Spirit you will reap eternal life. So giving into my urge to quit and hide in the recesses of my sofa would really be giving into my fleshly desire. I decided to ditch the sofa idea and continue being a mom. My kids’ hungry bellies thanked me.

What I think is so amazing about God is that He knows when you’re having a day like that. He is so faithful to remind us why we are doing what we are doing, whether that be ministry related, family related, or work related. His timing is perfect. He knows when to send you that little boost of morale, like a snicker bar at 3pm when you feel like you’re going to crash. It can come in many forms – a breakthrough with someone you’ve been praying for, an answer for that work issue you’ve been coming up against, a word of encouragement from a friend, an “I love you mom” from your child – manna from heaven. For me, on that day, it was this little breath of fresh air and all her expressive creativity. IMG_1551 “Mommy, I a pincess” (upside down glasses and all) 🙂 IMG_1553 She was my 3pm snicker bar, my manna from heaven, God’s impeccable provision in a moment of need. She took my breath away with her innocence and rejuvenated my soul as the weight of the day lifted and my lips formed a smile. Joy flooded my heart as I awakened from my slump to discover the blessings in my very presence. Take heart if you are feeling empty and look for the manna that He promised to provide. Don’t become weary in doing good. He promises you will reap a harvest if you don’t give up!

4 comments on “Manna from Heaven…or a Snicker Bar

  1. bethzinn
    December 6, 2012

    Great blog Anna… she gave me great joy when she share her beautiful nails tonight.. 🙂 Thank you. 🙂

  2. lifeohope
    December 6, 2012

    Is there a “love it” button? Thanks for this! I’m writing this from inside my couch, but I will come out now.

    • annambowman
      December 6, 2012

      Haha! So glad it was a timely message 🙂 Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

About the Author

annambowman

annambowman

I am a mother to 3 beautiful children and a wife to my amazing husband. I am passionate about helping women understand their value and raising up the next generation of godly women. I love music, art, dance, photography, peanut butter and honey sandwiches, Sunday mornings, a great cup of coffee, and heart to heart conversations. I also love that with creative punctuation you can now smile in your emails and texts :)

View Full Profile →

My Other Site

WhoIsBeautiful.org

Follow Me on Pure Charity

